Ottawa

Room 349, Confederation Building Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6

Tel.: 613-996-1119 Fax: 613-996-0850

Ponstituency 9711 Fourth Street Suite 1 Sidney, British Columbia V8L 2Y8

Tel.: 250-657-2000 Fax: 250-657-2004



Elizabeth Map Member of Parliament / Député(e) Saanich — Gulf Islands Ottawa

Pièce 349, Édifice de la Confédération Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A6 Tél.: 613-996-1119

Téléc. : 613-996-0850

Pirconscription

9711, rue Fourth suite 1 Sidney (Colombie-Britannique) V8L 2Y8

> Tél.: 250-657-2000 Téléc.: 250-657-2004

The Right Hon. Justin Trudeau Prime Minister of Canada and Leader of the Liberal Party of Canada

The Hon. Pierre Poilievre Leader of the Official Opposition of Canada and Leader of the Conservative Party of Canada

Yves-François Blanchet Leader of the Bloc Québécois

Jagmeet Singh Leader of the New Democratic Party of Canada

June 17, 2024

Dear Colleagues,

As you are likely aware, I have suggested in the media that any leaders who have not yet done so, pursue the opportunity to obtain top secret security clearance, read the June 3rd report of the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians (NSICOP) so that we all share the same knowledge base from which we can combat foreign interference.

Advancing action in Canada to thwart efforts by foreign states to improperly influence Canadians or, worse, to interfere in our democracy can be more effectively pursued if we work together. We already have an extraordinary group of exemplary parliamentarians, members of NSICOP, who have done a huge amount of work.



I am hoping you would agree that we meet, as many of us as are willing, in a confidential and secure setting with NSICOP members to discuss actions we could agree upon to take effective action to combat the threat and restore the confidence of Canadians in our parliament, and our democracy, well ahead of the expected 2025 election.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth May, O.C. Member of Parliament Saanich-Gulf Islands

Leader of the Green Party of Canada

Cc.

Copied to media

The Hon. David J. McGuinty, Chair of NSICOP

Stéphane Bergeron, Member of NSICOP

Don Davies, Member of NSICOP

Pat Duncan, Member of NSICOP

Darren Fisher, Member of NSICOP

Marty Klyne, Member of NSICOP

The Hon. Frances Lankin, Member of NSICOP

Patricia Lattanzio, Member of NSICOP

Rob Morrison, Member of NSICOP

Alex Ruff, Member of NSICOP